Skip to content

thoughts on la corrida de toros

24 March 2008
tags:
by

So we went to a bullfight yesterday evening. I have been once before, but MC had never seen one and our friend got tickets for about 4 euros. (Which is probably about $30 at this point, but who’s counting?) I’m completely conflicted about bullfighting. I think there’s something to be said for the historical and cultural aspects, but that doesn’t erase the fact that it truly is killing for sport. I love the pageantry and the costumes (and damn, bullfighters are pretty sexy), but I hate the fact that you start to get desensitized after the first bull. I welled up as soon as the first bull came prancing out and didn’t stop until the next bull. Then I felt like I got used to it, but I don’t think I want to be more used to it. And I really hate that that the last moments of the bull’s life are filled completely with confusion and pain. But then again, probably the last moments of a lot of creatures lives are filled with confusion and pain. Also, there’s something to be said for the life of the bull up until that point which is probably much better than the life of most animals killed for their meat in the US. But it really is strange to see the life drain out of something, and I’m pretty much done with bullfights. So if anyone who is coming to visit wants to see one, you might have to go without me. Or, you can look at the more than 500 pictures that MC took yesterday and feel like you were there with us.

-cuptastic

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Spirit of 73 permalink
    24 March 2008 8:19 pm

    I’m not much into bullfighting myself. I don’t give that much of a shit about animals, but there is no sense in being wantonly cruel. Plus, bullfighters are sissy-babies. You wanna be a man and fight a bull? Grab a knife and fight the goddamn thing. No picadores tearing all its muscles up first, no training to make the bull go after capes… just you, the horns, the knife and the bull.

    That would be more interesting. Then, when the bullfighters are all dead, we can get back to watching some FUTBOL!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Here’s a good joke you can tell to your professors:

    Hombre 1: Cuando hay una buena corrida, que se quite el futbol.

    Hombre 2: Toma! Y los toros tambien!

  2. KPeters permalink
    24 March 2008 8:59 pm

    Oh. Bulls. Dying. Sadness. I’m welling up just thinking about it.

    I’m not really pro-animals crazy or anything, but I’m with you. I simply wouldnt want to watch it. I felt kind of the same the other day at work when someone washed our glass office door spotlessly, closed it, and all the idiots I work with kept walking right into it. I dont like them much anyway, and yet- I still felt compelled to call out, “Wait! The door is CLOSED!” before they broke their nose on the sucker.

    I couldnt look away either though.

    The moral is… people I work with are idiots and bulls shouldnt die.

    The end.

  3. 28 March 2008 10:47 am

    So when you bite into a hamburger or a fine piece of beef cooked grandview style do you think about the cow and how confused the cow is or how much pain the electric cattle prod in his butt caused or how much pain they feel when the nail gun goes through their brain? I never noticed you tearing up so I am assuming you don’t think of it then. Here’s a thought, in bullfighting the bull stands a chance at doing some damage to the man responsible for his demise and on his way to that point lives a pretty good healthy life so that he will be ready for that endeavor, ESPECIALLY when compared to the cooped up, force fed beef cow who dies just as confused and probably in pain in some dark slaughterhouse without ever even getting a chance at his executioner. SO, if it’s the Cattle in general we are concerned about, lets cut Bull fighting and beef eating out of society, if you only want the lesser of two evils, I would say watch the bull fight and stay away from steak Al. As for me, I am going to throw an oversized piece of beef on the grill and tune in the BullFighting Network. Ole’

  4. conison permalink
    28 March 2008 8:53 pm

    Thank you so much for your opinion, TOMAS! I understand where you are coming from which is why I said “Also, there’s something to be said for the life of the bull up until that point which is probably much better than the life of most animals killed for their meat in the US, ” TOMAS!

Leave a Reply

